Collaborate Create Curate

To Edinburgh by Russell Jones

In 100 Poems, poetry on January 13, 2009 at 11:11 am

Title: To Edinburgh
Author: Russell Jones
Number: 4/100
Allocated postcode: EH1

To Edinburgh

Call me out of my brickwork and take me
to the quiet fields of your night. Armour my limbs,
helmet me, batter my drums with your tartan pipes.
Fire your proud arrows like hail storms,
bring out your castle and your cannons for war.

Your familiar wind falls —
a crag, your molten skyline is reborn.
Spit your heart of Midlothian for me:
tell your gothic spires that I am coming,
your high-streets that they are mine,
tell your gardens that I do not know mercy
and that I cannot return without them.

  1. […] Webster No. 2: Lonely City by Jim Murdoch No. 3: Mellis, Victoria Street by Vivien Jones No. 4: To Edinburgh by Russell Jones No. 5: Crags by Dave Coates No. 6: Stopping by Stefanie Tan No. 7: MacAdam’s Inventory O A […]

  2. […] Webster No. 2: Lonely City by Jim Murdoch No. 3: Mellis, Victoria Street by Vivien Jones No. 4: To Edinburgh by Russell Jones No. 5: Crags by Dave Coates No. 6: Stopping by Stefanie Tan No. 7: MacAdam’s Inventory O A […]

  3. […] on the right hand stage in the main hall at 8:00 pm for around 20 minutes. Also on that stage are Russell Jones, Tom Bristow and my good friend Rob A Mackenzie. There are 12 other poets on too, as well as the […]

  4. […] (a late addition, stepping in to replace Morgan Downie who sadly couldn’t be with us), Russell Jones, Anita John and McGuire. Russell was spotted brandishing copies of his pamphlet, The Last Refuge […]

  5. Gosh, this poem seems positively rude

Leave a comment